John Le Carre had me at one word

I know the film adaptation of John Le Carre’s The Constant Gardener. Haven’t watched it. But I saw Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and I liked the psychological drama, which from experience, is better appreciated when digested in its written form.

But what finally persuaded me to grab a copy of this book, ten years after it was published, is the word it used in its back cover: ennobled. I haven’t read that word before, not in the few John Grisham and Jeffery Deaver mystery thrillers I’ve consumed. It excites the lexophile in me.

A man ennobled by his wife’s tragic  murder…

I’ve read that a good writer has this skill of choosing one word instead of another. John Le Carre chose the word ennobled. He chose it well.

Leave a Reply

